Welcome to my kitchen!

In the beginning, was the food.  And it was good!

That’s really where this all starts.  The food.  I love food.  It’s pretty obvious to anyone who knows me.  I have many interests in this life, along with a very small handful of obsessions.  Food is at the top of that list.

I’m not a gourmet.  I’m not big on super-exotic ingredients from three different continents combined in innovative ways.  I’ve nothing against that type of cuisine, but the meals I keep coming back to – the meals I crave – don’t fall into that category.  I’m more of a steak and potatoes guy.  Just make sure the steak is perfectly cooked and seasoned.  Better yet, I’ll cook.

In other words, I’m after simple food, done well.  I want the bowl of chicken soup that’s so good it makes you dream about the soup you wish your mother could have given you when you were sick.  I want the steak that you eat half of before you realize you’ve been cutting it with the back of your knife.  I want recipes that fit on a 3X5 card without having to write small.  Nothing too complicated, just good.  I want real food.

And that’s where this is really going.  I’ve decided that I’m going to be spending more time cooking this year.  I want to raise my game.  I want to hone the technique I already have and expand it with new tricks.  I’m not planning to open a restaurant, host huge dinner parties on a regular basis or  launch my own cooking show.  I just want to cook.

About NoahWhey

I'm an author and musician living in Florida, but that's not important right now. And stop calling me "Shirley."
This entry was posted in Real Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

